Spring

 

Another spring bounds into the valley – 

leaping treetops, splashing through streams,

then screeching to a breathless halt in every yard and garden.

The perennial pixie always has surprises to toss about. 

 Like a bit of rain flung like a frisbee to pitter patter on window and roof

and to create cold, muddy puddles. 

Like another snow to sprinkle the ground with flakes that are there, then quickly gone.

But a significant snow could be just around the corner.

A persistent Winter sometimes hangs on, dumping snow over a resistant April. 

Finally, though, a youthful Spring prevails over winter,

pushing the Old Man over the treetops and through the streams

far forward into next December.

 I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden. 

Ruth Stout 

  http://assets.myflashfetish.com/swf/mp3/mp-simp.swf?myid=48391075&path=2010/03/23


Music Playlist at MixPod.com

Awake, thou wintry earth –
Fling off thy sadness!
Fair vernal flowers, laugh forth
Your ancient gladness!
Thomas Blackburn, "An Easter Hymn"

Spring shows what God can do with a drab and dirty world. 

Virgil A. Kraft

That God once loved a garden we learn in Holy writ.
And seeing gardens in the Spring I well can credit it.
Winifred Mary Letts

In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt. 

Margaret Atwood

And Spring arose on the garden fair,
Like the Spirit of Love felt everywhere;
And each flower and herb on Earth’s dark breast
rose from the dreams of its wintry rest.
Percy Bysshe Shelley, "The Sensitive Plant"

If you’ve never been thrilled to the very edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom,

maybe your soul has never been in bloom. 

Terri Guillemets

The day the Lord created hope was probably the same day he created Spring. 

Bern Williams

Yesterday the twig was brown and bare;
To-day the glint of green is there;
Tomorrow will be leaflets spare;
I know no thing so wondrous fair,
No miracle so strangely rare.
I wonder what will next be there!
L.H. Bailey

First a howling blizzard woke us,
Then the rain came down to soak us,
And now before the eye can focus –
Crocus. 

Lilja Rogers

This entry was posted in Word Rambles - Just Talking. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring

  1. Beth says:

    This is a beautiful post Pat! Thank you so much.Hugs,Beth

  2. Terry says:

    That was so nice. I really enjoyed reading this. Thank you.

  3. Unknown says:

    Wonderful hearing from you again. I feared you had stopped blogging.

  4. Shimona from the Palace says:

    One of your loveliest posts ever, Pat! I enjoyed it so much.All that\’s missing is some pictures of spring in your garden.Can I look forward to seeing some, soon?

  5. Michiko's says:

    Happy Easter to you and your families,Michiko

  6. Mei's says:

    Hi Pat, lovely post and I love the music very much, hope you\’re keeping well. Mei

  7. Marge says:

    Pat, little shoots are beginning to emerge from soil in some paper cups, planted several days ago. They\’re situated in a south-facing window just across the room from where I sit now, writing this. Knowing that the process of growth has begun for the seeds I planted fills me with optimism and hope, and I can barely wait for the soil outdoors to warm up enough for tilling and planting.Of all the quotes you offered above, I think I like this one best:"In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.."Yep; works for me!It\’s great to see your update and I look forward to learning what life will bring to you next!

  8. Lynne says:

    Spring is here in NW Ohio as well………..beautiful,fresh,exuberant Spring, full of blooming flowers, green,green grass and new life everywhere. I\’m glad you\’re enjoying it. Love the music…..Morning Has Broken was part of the prelude music for our wedding. Mendelsohn\’s Spring Song is as familiar to me as my name. And of course, "Spring" from the Four Seasons by Vivaldi…..I didn\’t know all the music,but I loved it and the videos……..what a lovely tribute to my faovorite season. Thanks for sharing,my friend. Have a happy and most blessed Easter.

  9. Mei's says:

    Thankyou Pat, like your new background. I am off to bed now, night night! Mei

  10. Lady says:

    loved reading your blog, thank you for sharing. I couldn\’t help but notice the \’spam\’ comment below. One of my friends has set up a blog where you can report spam accounts by copying and pasting on her space.. I\’ll post the link here for you http://x-evolutionist.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!25A0033DD834DD1D!21774.entryI must admit I usually just delete, but they still keep coming back. take care and bye for now. LadyPx

  11. Cheryl says:

    Well the TV told me that the spring is now GONE and summer is here. They were right. It was 90 outside today. My favorite is fall. Spring is good but I LOVE the colors of fall. We don\’t have fall here but I still have vivid images of it in Minnesota and Wisconsin….

Leave a Reply

