Little Gal Leaves the Valley & Friendly Persuasion

 

A whirlwind of activity had consumed them for three days. On one of those days they came running into the backyard proudly displaying their gum chewing skills. Gum is something Little Gal doesn’t get very often, so it was a novel experience for her. If only The Boy Next Door hadn’t dropped his, a whole lot of chewing would have been going on.

 

 

A lot of their time was spent in the orchard, climbing and swinging on the branches of a young apple tree. Earlier in the summer, just for the fun of giving them a mighty throw, they had pulled apples from the lower branches of several of the orchard’s apple trees. Only a few apples were left dangling.

Now, an older apple tree was dropping fruit to the ground, so they had another fling at apple pitching. But, just as Robert Frost had too much of apple picking, they soon grew tired of apple pitching.

Parting time came, time for Little Gal to leave the valley. BND had been awakened early every morning for school and had played till dark with Little Gal. Her sleep had been slept, but it was Friday, and BND was pooped.

With his school dismissed at noon, a grouchy bear met Little Gal when he came to play for a little while before saying goodbye. After stomping home in a tiff and coming back to say a not very sincere "I’m sorry", he stomped home again in another tiff.

Little Gal couldn’t leave it that way, so to BND’s house we went to make peace.

"You come with me, Grandma."

BND had taken refuge in his bedroom, but with coaxing from his mother and sisters he finally came out. Covered with a blanket, he crawled down the hallway into the living room. He was in no mood to be a charming host. Budging him from under his blanket for goodbyes was impossible. Nothing could make him leave the security of his blanket. So, Little Gal, understanding, now, that her friend was just a tired little boy and not angry with her, said her goodbyes with a big hug through the blanket.

BND was too exhausted for friendly persuasion, but Little Gal went home knowing she still had a friend in the valley.

Friendly Persuasion with Gary Cooper and Dorothy McGuire is one of my favorite movies. I hope that some day Little Gal will see the beauty of it and enjoy it, too. The song "Thee I Love" by Pat Boone is also a favorite.

This entry was posted in Word Rambles - Just Talking. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Little Gal Leaves the Valley & Friendly Persuasion

  1. Sara says:

    I just love how you tell the stories of Little Gal and BND. they are so good. I loved the videos once again, especially the first one. it looks like a VERY good movie. OH and the last video, I loved the song especially since Pat Boone was one good looking guy, when he was younger that is. oh, what a guy. lol have a great weekend.
    hugs…

  2. JoAnn says:

    Maybe, just maybe, BND had a twinge of regret that Little Gal was leaving the valley and didn\’t want to show his feelings!  Isn\’t it funny how grandchildren get to experience some things at grandma\’s that they don\’t get to do at home – gum is a good example!  I  do cookies and chocolate milk for a bedtime snack.  No sweets allowed at home!  Thanks for a little Friendly Persuasion.  A real classic and also one of my favorites.  I adored Gary Cooper.  Have a great weekend.

  3. Beth says:

    Another lovely post told so well.  The kids are adorable.
    I remember the movies and the song. 

  4. Lynne says:

    I am beginning to think that we are long-separated twins,since we share so many likes! I love Friendly Persuasion,one of my favorite Gary Cooper films. Have you read the book? Jessamyn West is a favorite author of mine. She writes so well about the Quakers, some of whom were ancestors of mine on my dad\’s side, and many of her books have some American history in them as well. If you haven\’t read her works, I think you\’d enjoy them too.
    Have a peaceful Sunday!

  5. Unknown says:

    I liked reading that..and I think Jo Ann is onto something.  BND was sad that Little Gal was leaving.

  6. Jayne says:

    Lovely blog, really enjoyed it !

  7. H says:

    Hi Patricia .. awwww too sweet … so sweet. Awesome blog … beautiful photos of the children too. Take care of you always, love H xo

  8. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    I do enjoy reading your telling of the friendship between Little Gal and BND.  It was sweet that she wanted to be sure things were fine between them and that she understood what the situation was.
     
    Oh, how happy I am to know there is a Gary Cooper move I haven\’t seen and I will be looking for this one!  Have you seen Angel and the Badman?  It has a similar theme from what I can tell.

  9. J W says:

    Gary Cooper was my all time favorite actor.  I miss Little Gal too.  Give her a "big John" hug in your heart for me please.  Patricia, you are a treasured friend.
     
    John

  10. Miss Beth says:

    Great pictures you have there    they look like they are having such a great time !!  She will certainly miss be with you.

  11. C says:

    Hi Miss Patricia,
     What a beautiful chid and with the prettiest color of hair.Wow you have a lot of things going on today here.I will have to stay awhile.You tell wonderful stories and I love your site because it reminds me of my home(WVA).I know the foot thing was a bit pricey but I splurged just this once.My husband and I love it.I give treatment to all my friends and family too! Yes your feet feel so good afterwards.I am a barefoot country girl so anything to help.
    Take Care,
    Miss Charley

Leave a comment